In Memoriam

  

48 hours ago I was tired, overworked, stressed. Today I’m utterly devastated. 

My father is gone. Died. Passed on. 

He’s not going to answer the phone, or type a misspelled email with two fingers, or tell me he loves me. 

I know they say time heals all wounds, but I don’t see how. I can’t fathom a world where I get older, where time marches on, and he’s not in it. 

And yet the clock struck midnight, and we–the living–began a new day. A day he will never see. 

He was a good man. A great man. 

He was my best friend. 

He was my daddy. Is my daddy. 

But he’s gone. 

7 thoughts on “In Memoriam

  1. Pingback: Low | undercoverBAT's Blog

  2. Pingback: Again | undercoverBAT's Blog

  3. Pingback: If No One Sees You, Were You Ever Even There? | undercoverBAT's Blog

  4. Pingback: This Is Why Tenure Matters | undercoverBAT's Blog

Leave a Reply

