#StopWorkplaceBullying

stop-workplace-bullying

Sometimes your subconscious reveals things you hadn’t already put together.

About ten days ago there was a Twitter storm to stop workplace bullying. BATs participated to bring awareness to the issues teachers face when they are bullied. At first I thought I might come up with some one-liners to tweet out over the thirty minute Twitter storm.

And then I realized I had blog posts to share about this.

Turns out, a lot of them.

In thirty minutes I tweeted out fourteen things I’ve written and posted here. Two told the stories of other teachers, one was my very first post where I introduced myself…and eleven posts were about my stories of workplace bullying.

In order to pick which ones to tweet, I ended up rereading a lot of what I’d written.

Seeing it all unfold, not writing them weeks or months apart but reading them all at once

I’ve experienced a lot.

Too much.

Seeing it all laid out really opened my eyes to how much bullying I’ve endured the last few years. It explains why even in unemployment there is a sense of relief that I am not walking on eggshells every day, not in fear of how everything I say or do will be judged and how this will affect my salary and my career and my life.

There is an odd peace in the aftermath of watching your career–the one that you worked so hard for–blow up in your face.

*****

Sometimes your subconscious reveals things you hadn’t already put together.

demise2

.
.
.
There are a lot of us who have been bullied, a lot of us who left the teaching profession altogether because of it. In the coming days, I’m going to be announcing a project I’m developing to amplify the voices of the teachers who are no longer in the classroom. Please subscribe below so you will be the first to hear about it, and if you know someone who is no longer teaching, please forward this to them. Thank you!

.

.

.

Thanks for reading! If you would like to be notified of future updates, please subscribe by email below. You can also follow me on Facebook and Twitter.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

One thought on “#StopWorkplaceBullying

  1. After I had endured many long years of confusing invasions into our district’s low-income schools due to the sudden push for test score reforms, I slowly felt the abuse growing but did not fully correlate my emotional stress to an intentional “emotional abuse.” Then I happened upon an article about domestic abuse in a women’s magazine; as I read through the section on the nature of emotional abuse I was shocked to see how the symptoms mirrored my own teacher’s experiences. I even wrote specifically about this in a section of my blogsite: http://www.ciedieaech.wordpress.com/2015/10/10/recycling-the-cycle-of-abuse

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

