Odd One Out

Odd One Out

I had other plans of what to write. So naturally I procrastinated by going on social media instead.

One of the problems I’ve encountered with leaving the teaching profession is that most of my friends on social media are teachers. I’m still reading the classroom memes and “guess what happened at school today” stories. Now I’m starting to see the countdowns until the end of the school year.

The last few days I’ve seen a lot of posts about Teacher Appreciation Week, and I’m friends with several people who were named Teacher of the Year in their buildings.

And yes, teachers should be appreciated year-round and treated with respect, and of course, I’m happy for all of my friends.

But to be honest, sometimes I really struggle with it. I’m the odd one out who’s no longer a teacher, and not because I chose to leave. And while I have friends receiving accolades for their teaching, I’m just reminded that I failed.

.

.

.

Thanks for reading! If you would like to be notified of future updates, please subscribe by email below. You can also follow me on Facebook and Twitter.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

One thought on “Odd One Out

  1. Odd one out, yes I often feel that way myself — left higher ed adjuncting, not entirely by choice, which would have to go along, shut up and not make waves to get along. But I didn’t go away, just participate and advocate on my own time and in my own voice. Still, when professional conversation inevitably turns to rank, discipline and affiliation, it grates. My voice so I can use it to name myself: Guerrilla Educationist and general gadfly

    Like

Leave a Reply

